The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by 
Consumer Health Care by
Consumer Health Care focuses on the U.S. healthcare system and the individuals experience with it. Entries cover topics related to the current state of health insurance, the various kinds (including Government programs like Medicare and Medicaid) and methods of its delivery, as well as the history of insurance and the evolution of our current for-profit system and the Healthcare legislation and reform.
Medicare by
Demystify the confusing web of medicare. Despite its widespread use, this complex program is often very hard to understand. Idiot's Guides: Medicare is an easy-to-understand guide that explains all of the benefits, rules, and processes. Clear, step-by-step instructions enable you navigate this complicated program. You'll learn how to find the right plan and avoid mistakes so that Medicare can serve you and your family. Learn what Medicare does and does not cover. Discover how much it will cost and how to reduce expenses. Not sure whether you're covered or how long you're covered? There is a section for that, too! The comprehensive guide also contains: * The history of the program; * The limitatoes of Medicare and how it works with insurance; * A breakdown of the costs; * Guidance on how Medicare fits into retirement planning; * Thorough coverage of the prescription drug program, Part D; * Closing the Medicare coverage gaps; and * Medicare's future and what it means for you.
Encyclopedia of Science,Technology and Ethics
Should governments and corporations be limited in their electronic monitoring of personal e-mails, library activities, or telephone calls even if it is in the name of national security? Does science have a moral obligation to resist political influence even it is means stalling research? Moral teachings and ethical questions about the creation and use of science and technology have been a part of religious and philosophical traditions from the earliest periods. Science and technology have faced a series of ethical and political challenges throughout much of modern history, from the Enlightenment, through the Industrial Revolution, to the military and ideological conflicts that defined the twentieth century. Today, the challenges are more global in scope and are intensified by terrorists opposed to many dimensions of the scientific and technological world. New fields of ethical reflection -- computer ethics, environmental ethics, communication ethics, genethics - are emerging to deal with the world that science and technology have created. professional ethics of doing science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society. This broad coverage supports the numerous courses in applied and professional ethics and policy related to the practice of science and technology in educational. Additionally, it provides a practical introduction to useful knowledge and ideas for both professionals and general readers. The encyclopedia embodies a historically and culturally inclusive approach, with entries on specific religions, linguistic and cultural perspectives, and philosophical positions. This is the first authoritative and comprehensive reference to illuminate the ethical, political, social, and legal issues related to science, engineering, and technology. Transcending disciplinary and cultural boundaries, the encyclopedia focuses on contemporary issues while providing ample historical and philosophical background. world, including terrorism, freedom, democracy, authoritarianism, military ethics, the concept of the just war, building destruction and collapse, and biological and chemical weapons.
Death and Dying Sourcebook by
This print and online resource provides consumer health information about end-of-life perspectives and the medical management of symptoms that can occur as death draws near.
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, 17th Edition by 
Medical Coding in the Real World by 
Certified Coding Associate (CCA) Exam Preparation by 
ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM Diagnostic Coding and Reimbursement for Physician Services, 2012 Edition by
Written for both students and in-training professionals, ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM Diagnostic Coding and Reimbursement for Physician Services, 2012 Edition, is updated and revised to provide practice and basic training in coding applications. Hands-on experience in the application of codes from the Official ICD-9-CM Coding and Reporting Guidelines, with consideration of unique coding rules specific to physicians, provides a thorough coding instructional experience. ICD-10 snapshots, detailed appendices, review exercises, and quizzes are included. Key Features: * Designed to address inconsistency in coding rules, value of clean claim forms, and difficulties working with third-party payers. * A complete explanation of symbols and formatting used in ICD-9-CM coding provides a foundation for additional learning and application. * Chapters are dedicated to separate body systems, identifying the most commonly diagnosed diseases and coding guidelines. * Exercises provide targeted experience with specific categories of codes, and self-tests offer experience with mixed codes, as occurs in the real world. * Practical appendices provide immediate knowledge on industry standards, and self-tests provide a progress benchmark. * Studies of patient care rather than one-line diagnoses provide real world practice * New chapter "Introduction to ICD-10-CM," provides an overview of the ICD-10-CM coding system as well as information regarding converting from ICD-9-CM to ICD-10-CM. * ICD-10 Snapshots at the end of every chapter
Kinn's the Administrative Medical Assistant by
Administrative Medical Assisting begins with Kinn! Elsevier's Kinn's The Administrative Medical Assistant, 13th Edition provides you with the real-world administrative skills that are essential to working in the modern medical office. An applied learning approach to the MA curriculum is threaded throughout each chapter to help you further develop the tactile and critical thinking skills necessary in today's healthcare setting. Paired with our adaptive solutions, EHR documentation, ICD-10 coverage and, detailed procedural videos, you will learn the professional and interpersonal skills of modern administrative medical assisting! Professionalism in applicable procedures teaches you how to properly interact with patients and coworkers. Professional behavior boxes provide guidelines on how to interact with patients, families, and coworkers. Step-by-step procedures explain complex conditions and abstract concepts. Patient education and legal and ethical issues are described in relation to the Medical Assistant's job. Critical thinking applications test your understanding of the content. Threaded case scenarios help you to apply concepts to realistic administrative situations. Portfolio builder helps you demonstrate proficiency to potential employers. NEW! Chapter on The Health Record reviews how you'll be working with a patient's medical record. NEW! Chapter on Technology in the Medical Office introduces you to the role technology plays in the medical office. NEW! Administrative procedure videos helps you visualize and review key procedures. NEW! Chapter on Competency-Based Education helps you to understand how your mastery of the material will affect your ability to get a job. Basics of Diagnostic Coding prepares you to use ICD-10 coding system.
CPT 2021 Professional Edition by
CPT® 2021 Professional Edition is the definitive AMA-authored resource to help health care professionals correctly report and bill medical procedures and services. Providers want accurate reimbursement. Payers want efficient claims processing. Since the CPT® code set is a dynamic, everchanging standard, an outdated codebook does not suffice. Correct reporting and billing of medical procedures and services begins with CPT® 2021 Professional Edition. Only the AMA, with the help of physicians and other experts in the health care community, creates and maintains the CPT code set. No other publisher can claim that. No other codebook can provide the official guidelines to code medical services and procedures properly. Features and Benefits. The CPT® 2021 Professional Edition codebook covers hundreds of code, guideline and text changes and features: CPT® Changes, CPT® Assistant, and Clinical Examples in Radiology citations provides cross-referenced information in popular AMA resources that can enhance your understanding of the CPT code set E/M 2021 code changes gives guidelines on the updated codes for office or other outpatient and prolonged services section incorporated A comprehensive index, aids you in locating codes related to a specific procedure, service, anatomic site, condition, synonym, eponym or abbreviation to allow for a clearer, quicker search Anatomical and procedural illustrations, help improve coding accuracy and understanding of the anatomy and procedures being discussed Coding tips throughout each section, improve your understanding of the nuances of the code set Enhanced codebook table of contents, allows users to perform a quick search of the codebook's entire content without being in a specific section Section-specific table of contents, provides users with a tool to navigate more effectively through each section's codes Summary of additions, deletions and revisions, provides a quick reference to 2020 changes without having to refer to previous editions Multiple appendices, offer quick reference to additional information and resources that cover such topics as modifiers, clinical examples, add-on codes, vascular families, multianalyte assays and telemedicine services Comprehensive E/M code selection tables, aid physicians and coders in assigning the most appropriate evaluation and management codes Adhesive section tabs, allow you to flag those sections and pages most relevant to your work More full color procedural illustrations Notes pages at the end of every code set section and subsection
ICD-10-CM 2021: the Complete Official Codebook with Guidelines by
ICD-10-CM 2021: The Complete Official Codebook provides the entire updated code set for diagnostic coding, organized to make the challenge of accurate coding easier. This codebook is the cornerstone for establishing medical necessity, determining coverage and ensuring appropriate reimbursement. Each of the 21 chapters in the Tabular List of Diseases and Injuries is organized to provide quick and simple navigation to facilitate accurate coding. The book also contains supplementary appendixes including a coding tutorial, pharmacology listings, a list of valid three-character codes and additional information on Z-codes for long-term drug use and Z-codes that can only be used as a principal diagnosis. Official coding guidelines for 2021 are bound into this codebook. Features and Benefits Full list of code changes. Quickly see the complete list of new, revised, and deleted codes affecting the FY 2021 codes, including a conversion table and code changes by specialty. QPP symbol in the tabular section.The symbol identifies diagnosis codes associated with Quality Payment Program (QPP) measures under MACRA. New and updated coding tips. Obtain insight into coding for physician and outpatient settings. New and updated definitions in the tabular listing. Assign codes with confidence based on illustrations and definitions designed to highlight key components of the disease process or injury and provide better understanding of complex diagnostic terms. Intuitive features and format.This edition includes full-color illustrations and visual alerts, including color-coding and symbols that identify coding notes and instructions, additional character requirements, codes associated with CMS hierarchical condition categories (HCC), Medicare Code Edits (MCEs), manifestation codes, other specified codes, and unspecified codes. Placeholder X. This icon alerts the coder to an important ICD-10-CM convention-the use of a 'placeholder X' for three-, four- and five-character codes requiring a seventh character extension. Coding guideline explanations and examples. Detailed explanations and examples related to application of the ICD-10-CM chapter guidelines are provided at the beginning of each chapter in the tabular section. Muscle/tendon translation table.This table is used to determine muscle/tendon action (flexor, extensor, other), which is a component of codes for acquired conditions and injuries affecting the muscles and tendons Index to Diseases and Injuries. Shaded guides to show indent levels for subentries. Appendices. Supplement your coding knowledge with information on proper coding practices, risk adjustment coding, pharmacology, and Z codes.
Medical Terminology and Anatomy for Coding by
Medical Terminology and Anatomy for Coding, 3rd Edition is unlike any other medical terminology textbook on the market. By interspersing ICD-10 and CPT coding guidelines and notes, electronic medical records, and integrated exercises, it combines anatomy and physiology coverage with the latest medical terminology coders - and coding students - need. The ICD-10-CM classification system serves as the structure for organizing diseases and disorders, with carefully drawn, well-labeled illustrations to help you visualize the associated anatomy. A new Basics of Oncology appendix provides the terminology and physiology of neoplasms, and new CPT coding information indicates where physician coding differs from ICD-10 coding. The robust Evolve site includes games, activities, and animations to reinforce learning. UNIQUE! Medical terminology, anatomy and physiology specifically tailored to ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS coding manuals supply you with an excellent foundation for learning the medical terminology related to coding. UNIQUE! A Body Part key provides a complete list of body parts and how they should be coded in ICD-10. UNIQUE! Pathology terms organized by ICD-10 disease and disorder categories let you learn terms in the same order they are presented in the coding manual. UNIQUE! Guideline Alert! and Special Notes boxes highlight relevant ICD-10 information. UNIQUE! Pharmacology in each body system and a Pharmacology Basics appendix help you recognize drugs and medications in medical reports. Procedural terms supply a more complete picture of the number and kind of procedures you will encounter on medical reports. UNIQUE! Normal Lab Values appendix familiarizes you with normal and abnormal lab values so you know when to search a medical record for possible additional diagnoses. UNIQUE! Root operation tables illustrate the root operations in PCS and their associated suffixes. Pathology and procedure terminology tables list the word parts for each term, along with the definition so you become familiar with prefixes, suffixes, and combining forms. Exercises interspersed throughout the text encourage you to practice and learn as you move through the material. Be Careful! boxes warn you about similar and potentially confusing word parts and medical terms. Electronic medical record format illustrates the appearance of electronic records now being used in many healthcare settings. NEW! CPT coding information indicates where physician coding differs from ICD-10 coding. NEW and EXAPNDED! New chapter that incorporates pregnancy, perinatal, and congenital conditions to more closely match the ICD-10 manual. NEW and UNIQUE! Oncology Basics appendix provides the terminology and physiology of neoplasms that you need to understand. NEW and UNIQUE! Generic and brand drug names table keeps you in the know. NEW and EXPANDED! The online course (MTO) now includes adaptive learning, gradable case studies, and audio reviews to provide a complete learning experience for distance learners. UPDATED! Evolve student resources now report to the gradebook so you can practice medical terminology in an interactive setting and instructors can follow your progress. NEW! Updated ICD-10 guidelines and notes provide up-to-the-minute coding information. NEW! Updated terminology reflects current technology and ICD-10 manual terms.
Exploring Electronic Health Records and Course Navigator by
This up-to-date, accurate, and approachable text teaches students about electronic health records across a variety of delivery systems, making it ideal for all allied health students, regardless of their career focus. To meet the needs of different types of learners, the text includes a wealth of images; figures; video tutorials of simulation activities; and hands-on exercises such as presentations, Web research, and more. Student Benefits Covers core content to prepare students for RHIT exams. Includes a chapter on Personal Health Records, a topic of increasing importance in health-care education. Integrates soft skills and professionalism to prepare students for the workplace. Features a student-friendly, approachable writing style that meets students at their level to help them comprehend material. Instructor Benefits Provides many assessment opportunities, including: Chapter Checkpoints to test recall. End-of-chapter exercises to assess objective learning and critical thinking. Software activities that are reported to the instructor. Each textbook includes access to the Course Navigator and its live EHR Navigator system! About the Course Navigator This Web-based learning management system enhances students' understanding of core content through flashcards, live assessments, quizzes, 50 EHR tutorials, and a revolutionary EHR Navigator system. The Course Navigator also allows instructors to assess students' work, track progress, download results, and view upcoming events. About the EHR Navigator Based on the best features of many industry EHR systems, this live, Web-based application gives students realistic practice using an EHR system. It teaches students the principles of EHR software through a variety of inpatient, outpatient, and PHR. activities, developing students' skills and preparing them to be market-ready the moment they graduate. The EHR Navigator: Replicates the professional practice to prepare students for the workplace. Provides experience in all areas of EHRs--from adding and scheduling patient appointments, to adding clinical data to patient charts, to coding, to ePrescribing. Offers students as much practice as they desire in a format that is easy-to-navigate, colorful, and user-friendly. Includes software activities that are graded and reported to the instructor.
HIPAA Plain and Simple by
With AMA's HIPAA Plain & Simple: After the Final Rule, you'll understand the complex regulation of HIPAA and HITECH so your office can take immediate action and achieve HIPAA compliance sooner. The stronger HIPAA privacy and security safeguards and better protection for electronic health data included in the final rule means that you need an accessible, easy-to-understand guide to all of the details surrounding this important change. This third edition expands upon the topics of enforcement, the accounting of disclosures, and contracts with and disclosures to business associates, while providing new content on migrating to operating rules and meaningful use.
A Guide to Achieving Meaningful Use by
Guide to Achieving Meaningful Use is intended for primary care physicians seeking to overcome barriers found in Stage 1 and plan for Stage 2 and 3 reporting. Professionals working in regional extension centers or quality improvement organizations can use A Guide to Achieving Meaningful Use to guide physician practices through Meaningful Use attestation. Health information management professionals and students will find its instructions helpful in understanding EHRs. It is a resource that offers a roadmap for clinical quality improvement and patient-caregiver engagement in the care decision process by: * Challenging readers to approach their workflow redesign with the goal of providing the most effective patient care, not merely to only meet a vendor's application design * Putting patient engagement data to practical use in business and clinical decisions and in staff engagement in the data entry and quality improvement processes * Demonstrating how physicians can leverage meaningful use to strengthen their practice, not just meet the Meaningful Use criteria