Vidal Sassoon : The Movie by
Vidal Sassoon revolutionized the art of hairstyling and left an indelible mark on popular culture. Traced with visual gusto is the life of a self-made man whose passion and perseverance took him from an orphanage in London to the absolute pinnacle of his craft. Special features include: commentary, deleted scenes, behind-the-scenes featurette, photo gallery, theatrical trailer, and more.
Toxic Beauty by
Reveals the truth about harmful health consequences of chemicals found in everyday cosmetics and beauty products, the huge corporations that knowingly use them and the lack of governmental regulations to protect consumers. Each morning people spritz and slather themselves in over 100 different chemicals, yet the cosmetics and personal care industry in North America is not required to prove an ingredient is safe for human health before it is on the shelves.
Chasing Beauty by
Chasing beauty is a provocative look into the exciting, glamorous and often treacherous world of modeling. Behind the glossy covers of vogue and glamor lie the shocking, uncensored stories of what models must do to become a top fashion model and have it all! Chasing beauty goes beneath the alluring surface to examine body image and the psychological effects of the beauty business on (sometimes very) young women and men. The film examines what it takes to be a top model, the demanding, sometimes unattainable physical requirements of looking perfect, the huge financial and emotional investments, and the nudity and sexual favors that are sometimes prerequisites for making it. The film follows super models, photographers, agents, designers plastic surgeons, make up artists and psychologists and asks the daring question, what is ultimate beauty and is the success and wealth from being a supermodel wrth the real human costs of achieving it?
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, 17th Edition by 
Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear through the Ages by
For assignments requiring research on culturesand customs, fashion and costume information through the erasis frequently needed by middle school students. U · X · L 's "Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Footwear, Hairstyles, and Body Decorations Through the Ages" has all the answers in a comprehensive, chronologically based, affordablypriced, 5-vol. set. With typical U · X · L high quality, "Fashion, Costume, and Culture" providesfacts and information about the cultural, religious and social implicationsof human decoration andadornment throughout history, with a particular emphasis on thedecades of the 20th century. In500 entries, detailed informationabout clothing, hairstyles, tattoos, jewelry, body piercing, feet binding and othertypes of fashion or style is examined. Additionally, entries explainthe fashion or style within the context of the traditions, customs, rituals or practices it relates to, as well as its significance to societyor culture. Entries follow astandardized format to ensure that students caneasily do comparisons. Arranged chronologically, each era, centuryor decade begins with a short synopsis of the historical highlights.With further division of the information by region, similar nations, countries and cultures are presented together and include anoverview broken up with numerous subheads leading studentsdirectly to the information they need. For additional ease-of-use, information on specific fashion items and the country or culturethat used them is divided into four main topics areas including: ClothingFootwearHairstyles and headgearBody adornment To ensure relevancy for student research needs, entries wereselected based onmiddle school curriculum, as well as theirimportance to a particular culture or country. Additionally, "Fashion, Costume, and Culture" is written at a seventh-grade readinglevel with difficult terms or concepts explained in each e
Textured Tresses by
Twist it! Braid it! Loc it! Enjoy the freedom and beauty of naturally textured hair. Textured hair styles like Locs, Braids, Twists, Cornrows, and Knots are all the rage, adorning the heads of celebrities, athletes, and everyday folk now more than ever before. Yet, the actual caring, styling, and maintenance of textured hair still remains a mystery to many. Now, Diane Da Costa, celebrity stylist and master designer of natural hair, unravels the tresses of textured hair, providing readers with information on the proper care of natural hair as well as a step-by-step guide on achieving various exciting styles. Textured Tresses will help you: -Identify and celebrate the texture you were born with (whether it's wavy, curly, very curly, or tightly coiled) -Keep your hair healthy and strong by using hair products and tools correctly and managing stress effectively -Select the right stylist and salon to suit your hair care needs -Transition from chemically relaxed hair to natural hair safely -Experiment with color, weaves, and chemicals -Achieve the styles you admire on your favorite movie stars and recording artists Packed throughout with photos, illustrations, and special celebrity sections, Textured Tresses is a must-have whether you already twist, coil, loc, or want to learn how to begin.
The Hair Bible by
At last, medical science explains "bad hair days" -- and what you can do to avoid them! The straight-haired among us long for curls, yet those so endowed wish to tame their headstrong locks. Although you can't change what you were born with, you can make the most of the hair you have -- by knowing the physiological, chemical, and even psychological causes of the most common hair problems. Dr. Susan Craig Scott, a hair-replacement surgeon, consults with other medical authorities and beauty experts to present the ultimate companion to having vibrant, healthy hair at any age. The Hair Bible is every woman's guide to * Best daily treatments, products, and hair care tools * Styling without damage * Finding your look * Fixing styling mistakes * Choosing wigs, extensions, and other alternatives The Hair Bible also tackles a major concern for millions of women: hair loss. Dr. Scott explains how stress, diet, prescription medication, vitamin deficiencies, chronic illness, and other factors affect hair growth -- and, with a keen awareness of the emotional strains on women coping with thinning hair, she presents up-to-the-minute information on all treatment options: MEDICAL AND PHARMACEUTICAL: minoxidil, cortisone, and hormone therapies NATURAL: herbal products, stress management, and fitness NUTRITIONAL: dietary changes for improved hair SURGICAL: implants, grafting, scalp reduction, and more Get to the root of your hair care concerns. Turn to The Hair Bible for answers -- and make every day a great hair day!
Curly Girl by
Celebrate the beauty of curls in a buoyant how-to, manifesto, and curly girl support group all in one. Say no to shampoo, unplug the dryer, and kiss frizz and bad hair days good-bye. Curly Girl is the surprising bible for those with naturally curly or wavy hair and a desire to celebrate it, from hair guru Lorraine Massey. It's all here: Daily routines for corkscrew, Botticelli, fractal, and wavy curls. Homemade lotions and potions for locking in moisture. Expert tips on caring for African American hair. Fabulous dos for weddings and special occasions. How to trim your hair yourself, step-by-step. (Remember: It's not what you take off; it's what you leave on.) Recommendations for chemical-free products. And so much more: the care, the styling, the products, the remedies, the empowering, pro-curl attitude. Includes: Ten things to do before you dye You are what you eat--and so are your curls Getting kids to love their curls Curly guys Lorraine's 12-step recovery program And check out Lorraine's video tutorials on YouTube.
Hair to Dye For by
How to achieve amazing hair color effects at home from a simple exotic highlight to the unicorn hair of your dreams! Ever wanted blue hair? How about red, purple, green, white, pink, or grey? How about a bunch of those at once? With this book, your fantasy hair can now become a reality. Written by well-known hair colorist Ash Fortis, this book includes step-by-step instructions on how to do dozens of different hair dye techniques, from highlights to hologram hair. Featuring gorgeous photography and custom how-to illustrations, Hair to Dye For will not only show you how to dye your hair, it'll give you inspiration for amazing looks you'd never even imagined.
The Science of Black Hair by
Are you ready to stop battling your hair? Win the war against breakage. Forever. The Science of Black Hair: A Comprehensive Guide to Textured Hair Care combines research with testimony in an authoritative reference text dedicated to the care of black hair- relaxed or natural. This powerful book introduces readers to a comprehensive healthy hair care strategy for achieving beautifully radiant hair regardless of hair type. Black hair structure, properties, and maintenance methods are carefully outlined throughout this go-to reference book to give you the tools you need to improve the health and look of your hair, TODAY.
Haircutting for Dummies by
Your short cut to stylish home hairdressing Ever wondered if you could hack it at cutting your friends' and family's hair, or could even make it as a full-blown stylist? If you've got a little creative spark--a love of crafting or painting or a talent for home makeovers--and an obsessive yen to redo the dos you see around you, it's more than likely you can make the cut. The new edition of Haircutting For Dummies shows you how to draw out your inner artist and bring your ideas to glorious life on the heads of your nearest and dearest--and will help shave dollars off your beauty budget into the bargain! In a free-spirited, chatty style, master stylist and social media corporate beauty consultant Jeryl E. Spear sits you down for a comprehensive snip-and-tell overview of how to reproduce the latest short, medium, and long hairstyles, as well as fancying things up with cutting-edge techniques like slicing, notching, and layering. Jeryl also provides a drawerful of tips on the tools you'll need to get started. Get a grip on men's and women's styles Set up shop at home Choose your tools and keep them sharp Take the first steps to embracing a beauty career Packed with detailed illustrations and model shots to guide your work, this book has everything you need to begin the creative work of making everyone you know--and the world--a smarter, more beautiful place!
Exam Review for Milady Standard Cosmetology by
This is one of the primary student supplements to MILADY STANDARD COSMETOLOGY 2016. The Exam Review contains chapter-by-chapter questions in multiple-choice formats to help students prepare for their state board exams. The answer key at the back of the book allows students to check accuracy and identify weak areas.
Nail Technology Theory Practice Exams by
This study guide will help you pass your state licensing board written exam for nail technology (manicuring) or the National-Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC) National Nail Technology Theory Exam. Even if your state does not use the NIC exam, this study guide will still help you prepare for your state licensing board exam.This book contains 2 sections. Section 1 contains questions in exam format. Section 2 contains questions grouped by topics. You may choose to practice by answering the questions in exam format or you may choose to focus on specific topics. Section 1 and Section 2 contain the same questions.
Skin Care and Cosmetic Ingredients Dictionary by
Milady Skin Care and Cosmetic Ingredients Dictionary, 4th Edition is more than just a dictionary of cosmetic ingredients; it is a guide to understanding skin types and skin physiology, product formulation and how cosmetic products interact with the skin. For ease of use, this book is split into three parts. Part 1 includes a basic explanation of skin anatomy and physiology, including skin types, conditions and problems. This knowledge is critical for understanding product performance. Definitions of common terms used in skin care formulation are also provided. Part 2 contains an alphabetical listing of more than 2,300 cosmetic ingredients with accompanying definitions that help identify the function and purpose of each ingredient with Part 3 offering a reference of Botanical Latin names for commonly used ingredients. This is an invaluable resource that will assist in making well-informed decisions regarding skin care ingredients and cosmetic products.