This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. Search over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s
Science Onlineoffers expansivereference coverage of the full range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, interactives, and experiments. Comprehensive Topic Centers help students find a starting point for their research, and the science eLearning modules cover core topics with Teacher Support.
Todays Sciencebridges the gap between the science taught in class and real-world discoveries by leading scientistsgiving comprehensive and in-depth explanations of some of the most important advances in biology, chemistry, environmental science, space, physics, and technology. Each article includes vivid images and groundbreaking videos that help make difficult concepts understandable.
Knowledge Encyclopedia Science! by DKExplore science as you've never known it before with this children's encyclopedia perfect for budding scientists! Forming part of a fantastic series of kid's educational books, this bold and brilliant kid's encyclopedia uses ground-breaking CGI imagery to reveal the world as you've never seen it before. Informative, diverse in subject matter, easy-to-read and brimming with beautiful graphics, young learners can explore the incredibly detailed cross-sections and cutaways that reveal the scientific inner workings of just about everything! This charming children's encyclopedia opens the world in new ways, with: - Packed with facts, charts, timelines, and infographics that cover a vast range of topics. - Encompassing a visual approach with illustrations, photographs and extremely detailed 3D images. - Crystal clear text distills the key information. - DK's encyclopedias are fact-checked by subject experts to offer accuracy beyond online sources of information. This fully-updated edition of Knowledge Encyclopedia Science! is the perfect encyclopedia for children aged 9-12, ideal for inquisitive minds, providing young readers with an engaging introduction to core science topics, demonstrating how all the major scientific principles fit together and using awe-inspiring illustrations to reveal how biology, chemistry and physics is used every day in the world around us. Jam-packed with spectacular scientific facts, including graphics, facts, and data boxes, this science encyclopedia is sure to delight budding young scientists. Explore, Discover And Learn! DK's Knowledge Encyclopedia Science! uncovers the marvels of our world in unprecedented detail and with stunning realism. Encompassing incredible computer-generated images to reveal and explain science as never before, you can spend quality time exploring the world of science with your children, whether it's looking inside a cell, pulling apart a Formula 1 racing car, or examining the forces that hold the Universe together, accompanied by impressive visuals to engage their senses. A must-have volume for curious kids with a thirst for knowledge, this enthralling encyclopedia is structured in such a way that your child can read a bit at a time, and feel comfortable to pause and ask questions. Doubling up as the perfect gift for young readers, who are always asking questions about the inner workings of our planet! At DK, we believe in the power of discovery. This thrilling kid's encyclopedia is part of the Knowledge Encyclopedia educational series. Celebrate your child's curiosity as they complete the collection and discover diverse facts about the world around them. Dive into the deep blue with Knowledge Encyclopedia Ocean! Travel back in time to when dinosaurs roamed the earth with Knowledge Encyclopedia Dinosaur! And hone your knowledge on how the human body works with Knowledge Encyclopedia Human Body! Whatever topic takes their fancy, there's an encyclopedia for everyone!
Environmental Science by Toby MillerThis concise introduction to environmental science uses basic and easily comprehendible scientific laws, principles, and concepts to help students understand environmental and resource problems and possible solutions to these problems. It is a shorter alternative to Miller's LIVING IN THE ENVIRONMENT which is 864 pages long). It includes many full-color illustrations and photographs and a writing style that is clear, personal, and lively. Extensive reviewing by hundreds of experts and Miller's careful research covering more than 10,000 sources ensure the text's accuracy and currency. The book's 412 illustrations are designed to present complex ideas in understandable ways and to relate learning to the real world. During the early 1970's, Miller's texts helped shape and define the environmental science course. Since 1975 Miller's books have been the most widely used environmental science texts in the United States and in the world. His books have been published in five languages and have been used by more than two million students.
Call Number: GE105 .M544 1998
Publication Date: 1998-04-07
Principles of Environmental Science by William P. Cunningham; Mary Ann CunninghamRather than the 25 to 30 chapters found in most environmental science textbooks, the authors have limitedPrinciples of Environmental Science: Inquiry and Applicationsto 15 chapters--perfect for the one-semester, non-majors environmental science course. True to its title, the goal of this concise text is to provide an up-to-date, introductory view of essential themes in environmental science along with offering students numerous opportunities to practice scientific thinking and active learning.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Studies by William Ashworth; Charles E. LittlePraise for the previous edition: ...a readable, informative source...highly recommended for public and undergraduate libraries..., Choice an up-to date dictionary...useful to activists, students, and others who need clear definitions...for terms in environmental literature..., Booklist ...a very useful source of basic explanations of terms related to one of today's very hot topics. , Wilson Library Bulletin ...a major contribution to helping the diverse constituency of environmentalism speak the same language. , American Reference Books Annual Written by two experts in the field