Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by 
MLA Handbook by
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook, the official guide to MLA format. Works are published today in a dizzying variety of ways: a novel, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to as an audiobook. Writers of research papers routinely need to know how to cite works on Web sites, videos on platforms like YouTube, interviews and other works created by multiple authors, journal articles contained in databases, online images, posts on social media sites, song lyrics, and more. Instead of providing separate instructions for each format, the MLA's unique, innovative approach recommends one set of guidelines that writers can apply to any type of source.This groundbreaking edition of the MLA's best-selling handbook is short and designed for easy use. It guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research and thus focuses on the key skills of information and digital literacy. It then shows writers how to cite sources in their writing, offering detailed guidance on in-text citations, quoting and paraphrasing, avoiding plagiarism, and more. Intended for students, teachers, librarians, and advanced scholars, the handbook is an indispensable resource in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields.
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing by
Reorganized and revised, the third edition of the MLA Style Manual offers complete, up-to-date guidance on writing scholarly texts, documenting research sources, submitting manuscripts to publishers, and dealing with legal issues surrounding publication.
Successful College Writing by
With comprehensive coverage of reading and study skills, step-by-step strategies for writing and research, and a unique visual approach to learning,Successful College Writingprovides in-depth instruction on the skills other composition texts assume students already possess. The third edition provides even more help in the areas where students need it most and a stronger emphasis on assessment and self-evaluation.
The Curious Researcher by
Featuring an engaging, direct writing style and inquiry-based approach, this popular research guide stresses that curiosity is the best reason for investigating ideas and information.An appealing alternative to traditional research texts, The Curious Researcher stands apart for its motivational tone and its conviction that research writing can be full of rewarding discoveries. Offering a wide variety of examples from student and professional writers, this popular guide shows that good research and lively writing do not have to be mutually exclusive. Students are encouraged to find ways to bring their writing to life, even though they are writing with facts. A unique chronological organization sets up achievable writing goals while it provides week-by-week guidance through the research process. Full explanations of the technical aspects of writing and documenting source-based papers help students develop sound research and analysis skills.
Critical Thinking, Thoughtful Writing by
Written by leading educators in interdisciplinary critical thinking, this popular rhetoric with readings makes a direct link between learning to write and read effectively and developing critical- thinking skills. Each chapter focuses on a particular critical-thinking skill, such as problem solving or analyzing complex issues, which is practiced and explored through Thinking-Writing Activities and thematically linked readings. Students further develop these skills through carefully sequenced pedagogy that promotes writing and a cross-disciplinary approach that asks them to critically evaluate a variety of readings.
Student's Guide to Writing College Papers, Fifth Edition by
Students of all levels need to know how to write a well-reasoned, coherent research paper--and for decades Kate L. Turabian's Student's Guide to Writing College Papers has helped them to develop this critical skill. For its fifth edition, Chicago has reconceived and renewed this classic work for today's generation. Addressing the same range of topics as Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations but for beginning writers and researchers, this guide introduces students to the art of formulating an effective argument, conducting high-quality research with limited resources, and writing an engaging class paper. This new edition includes fresh examples of research topics, clarified terminology, more illustrations, and new information about using online sources and citation software. It features updated citation guidelines for Chicago, MLA, and APA styles, aligning with the latest editions of these popular style manuals. It emphasizes argument, research, and writing as extensions of activities that students already do in their everyday lives. It also includes a more expansive view of what the end product of research might be, showing that knowledge can be presented in more ways than on a printed page. Friendly and authoritative, the fifth edition of Student's Guide to Writing College Papers combines decades of expert advice with new revisions based on feedback from students and teachers. Time-tested and teacher-approved, this book will prepare students to be better critical thinkers and help them develop a sense of inquiry that will serve them well beyond the classroom.
Writing Analytically by
A rhetoric that treats writing as thinking, WRITING ANALYTICALLY offers a sequence of specific prompts that teach students across the curriculum how to use writing to arrive at ideas.
What Is College-Level Writing? by
Just what defines "college-level" writing? This book seeks to engage this essential question with care, patience, and pragmatism, and includes contributions by many well-known scholars such as Edward M. White, Lynn Z. Bloom, Ronald Lunsford, Sheridan Blau, Jeanne Gunner, Muriel Harris, and Kathleen Blake Yancey. Special features include the following: perspectives from high school teachers, who present their concerns about the discrepancy between what they tell their students is important in college writing courses and what students actually learn is important; student contributors, who write about their experiences transitioning from high school writing to college-level writing; the administrative perspective, which addresses such issues as what other departments within a university consider college-level writing and how an English department develops its standard course syllabi, makes textbook recommendations, and interacts with adjunct faculty members; and discussion between contributors, drawn from their exchanges.
Literature and the Writing Process by
Literature and the Writing Process combines the best elements of a literature anthology with those of a handbook to guide students through the interrelated process of analytical reading and critical writing. Text writing assignments use literature as a tool of critical thought, a method for analysis, and a way of communicating ideas. This approach emphasizes writing as the focus of the book with literature as the means to write effectively. A four-part organization combines a literary anthology with composition instruction and a style handbook so students have everything they need at their fingertips.
Exploring Writing by
This work serves as a guidebook for every step of the writing process. Emphasizing both process and practice, with a focus on revision, the second edition helps to apply and advance writing skills using John Langan's proven techniques.
To find more information on writing and composition, visit the Getting Started LibGuide.
https://tsirawich.wordpress.com/non-verbal-communication/part-4writing-essay/
https://learnenglishteens.britishcouncil.org/skills/writing/b2-writing/a-for-and-against-essay-about-the-internet
https://learnenglishteens.britishcouncil.org/skills/writing/c1-writing/a-for-and-against-essay-about-online-communication
http://school-is-cool.pbworks.com/w/page/14926975/Essay%20Example