World Digital LibraryThis collection contains cultural heritage materials gathered during the World Digital Library (WDL) project, including thousands of items contributed by partner organizations worldwide as well as content from Library of Congress collections. The original World Digital Library site (preserved in LC’s Web Archives here) and all descriptive metadata were translated from English and made available in six additional languages: Spanish, Portuguese, French, Arabic, Russian, and Chinese. All item records include narrative descriptions submitted by the contributing partners and enhanced by WDL researchers to contextualize the item and its cultural and historical importance. Books, manuscripts, maps, and other primary materials in the WDL collection are presented in their original languages; more than 100 languages are represented, including many lesser known and endangered languages. Additionally, all World Digital Library metadata in each of the seven languages is available as a downloadable dataset.
Teaching HistoryTeachinghistory.org is designed to help K–12 history teachers access resources and materials to improve U.S. history education in the classroom. With funding from the U.S. Department of Education, the Center for History and New Media (CHNM) has created Teachinghistory.org with the goal of making history content, teaching strategies, resources, and research accessible.
It’s 1770. You are Nat Wheeler, a 14-year-old apprentice in Boston. As tensions rise among Patriots, Loyalists, and others, can you decide where your loyalties lie?
Databases
Daily Life through HistoryThis link opens in a new windowLearn about world history through the experiences of the people who lived it; provides access to everyday details about past eras that make historical accounts relevant and meaningful.
This link opens in a new window
History VaultThis link opens in a new windowProQuest History Vault first launched in 2011 and consists of manuscript and archival collections digitized in partnership and from a wide variety of archival institutions. Major collection areas in History Vault focus on the Black Freedom Movement of the 20th Century, Southern Life and Slavery, Women's Rights, International Relations, American Politics and Society with a strong focus on the 20th Century, and labor unions, workers and radical politics in the 20th Century. On the topic of civil rights and Black Freedom, History Vault contains records of four of the most important civil rights organizations of the 1950s and 1960s: NAACP, SCLC, SNCC, and CORE. History Vault's collections on Slavery and Southern plantations candidly document the realities of slavery at the most immediate grassroots level in Southern society and provide some of the most revealing documentation in existence on the functioning of the slave system. Many of the collections in History Vault were originally available in microfilm from the University Publications of America (UPA) research collections and others come from the University Microfilms International (UMI) research collections with additional collections scanned from the original documents.
World HistoryThis link opens in a new windowWell-rounded coverage of current thinking and scholarly work.
World History: Ancient and Medieval ErasThis link opens in a new windowIncludes student learning modules covering prehistory through the beginning of the Renaissance, this resource explores ancient civilizations, dynasties, empires, and regions of the ancient and medieval world. Funding provided by Arkansas Department of Education.
This link opens in a new window
World History: The Modern EraThis link opens in a new windowIncludes student learning modules covering the history of the world from 1500 to the present. Includes topics such as the evolution of modern Europe since the Renaissance, developments in Asia, Africa, and the Islamic world; the Industrial Revolution, revolutions in France and Latin America, World Wars I and II, growing global powers, and more. Funding provided by Arkansas Department of Education.
This link opens in a new window
World History AcademicThis link opens in a new windowAcademic articles, videos, case studies, and more on topics in world history
News BankThis link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
This link opens in a new window