LibGuides: Getting Started: Databases

LibGuides

If you need to search specific databases to your major, find yours on the LibGuides page. There you will find book suggestions and all databases already pointing to your subject matter.

Get Strarted

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Complete source for peer-reviewed scholarly articles across all academic disciplines
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization helping the academic community use digital technologies to preserve the scholarly record and to advance research and teaching in sustainable ways.
Remote Username and Password
USERNAME: ASUTRLibrary
PASSWORD: Eagles06
Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics in all instances.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher is an editorially curated pro/con database designed for middle and high school students, university undergraduates, instructors, and librarians. Leading Issues pages provide a framework for understanding and analyzing over 360 complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources. All content is 100% full-text and selected from authoritative magazines, newspapers, photographs, books, statistics, infographics, websites, and more.
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A massive, multidisciplinary database, designed for students and educators at high schools, community colleges, and four-year universities. Editorially created pages provide valuable context for both common and obscure research topics. The content, which is all full text, includes books, magazines, journals, newspapers, photographs, transcripts, and videos.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search ALL databases and library catalog at once.

Literature Study Guides

Using the one search bar helps you go through all the databases at once! Just type in your term(s) and see what appears!

What is OER

Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching and learning materials that you may freely use and reuse at no cost, and without needing to ask permission. Unlike copyrighted resources, OER have been authored or created by an individual or organization that chooses to retain few, if any, ownership rights.

Publicly Available Content Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed to complement other databases and collections, this database brings together or links to full text for publicly available scholarly content from a number of different sources from around the world. It includes content from major subject repositories such as arXiv as well as open access journals. Content includes journal articles, pre-prints, books, conference papers and reports.

Full University Courses
This collection highlights some of the complete courses indexed on OER Commons.
Open Textbooks
Open Textbooks are available from many resource providers. To find more openly licensed textbooks, visit the Open Textbooks Hub.
OpenStax
OpenStax is part of Rice University which is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit charitable corporation, and it’s our mission to improve student access to education. Our first open source college textbook was published in 2012 and has since scaled to 41 books used by millions of students across the globe. Our adaptive learning technology, designed to improve learning outcomes through personalized educational paths, are currently being piloted for K-12 and college. The OpenStax mission is made possible through the generous support of philanthropic foundations. Through these partnerships and our alliance with other educational resource companies, OpenStax is breaking down the most common barriers to learning and empowering students and instructors to succeed.

Gale

Gale Tools
When you need to find a trusted source for an assignment or have a research project to complete, access the library’s Gale resources anytime, anywhere, and on any device with an internet connection.
Introducing Topics and Encourage Student Inquiry
Find and share individual background or thought-provoking sources to support a focus question, prompt an initial discussion, or fuel student questions.
Find and share a set of sources. Ask students to choose from the results to investigate their questions and take control of their own learning.

Proquest

ProQuest Platform

JSTOR

JSTOR Research Basics