Fast Facts for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing by
Second Edition Designated a Doody's Core Title This is a concise, pocket-sized resource for students and practicing nurses alike that delivers the fundamentals of evidence-based practice (EBP) and basic nursing research concepts in an easy-to-read, quick-access format. It demystifies the research process with straightforward information. The third edition is updated to deliver the most current information on research methods, database upgrades, and new resources. The reference serves as a succinct companion for students in EBP courses and provides practicing nurses with a resource for developing EBP on their units. It equips bedside nurses with fundamental concepts and explains basic research terms and how to conduct literature searches to "find the evidence." The third edition continues to deliver the most practical information on EBP, including how to get the best evidence quickly, using various databases, and coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods. At-a-glance charts categorize research and abundant examples demonstrate concepts. This classroom-tested book also provides background information on defining the "compelling question," which is essential to finding the appropriate evidence-based material. New to the Third Edition: Updated with current information on research methods and new resources"Finding the Evidence" chapter completely updated with the latest databases and search enginesIncludes two new chapters, "The Iowa Model of Evidence-Based Practice to Promote Quality Care" and "Evidence-Based Practice in the Nurse Residency Program"Aligns with projects that are required by many undergraduate programs and residency/internship programs for new nursesIncorporates the Iowa Model of EBP into developing the project format Key Features: Provides step-by-step methods to implement evidence-based practiceIncludes examples of how hospitals and healthcare providers are integrating EBP into their practiceIncludes extensive coverage of how EBP can be used to improve patient care, with examples and cases to show readers practical application of contentReviews basic terms and principlesPresents quantitative and qualitative research approachesHas been classroom tested and used in both live and online course formats
Level A: The most reliable level of evidence because evidence is acquired from randomized control trials. Example: administering convalescent plasma or placebo to determine the former’s effectiveness on COVID-19 patients with severe pneumonia.
Level B: Evidence is acquired from quality-designed control trials without randomization, clinical cohort studies, case-controlled studies, uncontrolled studies, epidemiological studies, and qualitative/quantitative studies. Example: studying the development of heart disease after exposure or nonexposure to 10 years of secondhand smoke.
Level C: Evidence is acquired from consensus viewpoint, expert opinion, and meta-synthesis. Typically used when there is no quality and quantity data yet available about a specific condition. Experts reach agreement by reviewing the limited evidence available. Example: determining treatment for an exceptionally rare condition; since there have been so few cases, there is very limited information to reference.
Level ML (multilevel): Evidence is acquired from more than one level of evidence as defined in the rating system. This level is usually applied to more complex cases. Example: concluding that invasive surgery to remove a malignant mass from an elderly patient’s pancreas would be extremely high risk not only due to the patient’s age but also because of the unusual position of the mass. While surgery risk in elderly patients has been studied extensively (Level B), information about a rare form of pancreatic tumor could be as rare as the condition itself, hence the course of treatment would have to rely heavily on consensus viewpoint (Level C).
It is a method by which practitioners across the healthcare professions review and assess the most current, highest-quality research to inform their delivery of care. Although there is no precise standard for what constitutes evidence-based practice in nursing, the approach consists of three main components and five basic steps.
Evidence-based practice (EBP) is considered the gold standard of care, and as such, it is now an expectation of patients, regulatory agencies, and healthcare funders. Despite the abundance of research to inform clinical practice, many patients still fail to receive evidence-based care.
Several models have been developed to guide nurses through the steps necessary for EBP. Although they vary in explicit criteria, they generally all contain a familiar series of steps from the identification of a clinical problem, to evidence synthesis, and then implementation and evaluation. In contrast to evidence-based medicine, which is primarily focused on the clinician-patient level, EBP models focus on integrating evidence at a systems level. The Iowa Model of EBP (Iowa Model) is one of the most widely used in the USA. The model was developed 25 years ago by nurses at the University of Iowa Hospital and faculty from the University of Iowa College of Nursing. The model underwent a significant review and revision in 2017.
While many of the EBP models have existed for two decades or more, their use varies considerably among organizations and between countries which has led to calls for more widespread dissemination and adoption. The original aim of this research was to gather the perspectives and experiences of nurses using the Iowa Model to inform its introduction to other practice settings. As with many interpretive descriptive studies, the focus of the research departed slightly from its original aim. As a more in-depth understanding was gained, the focus broadened to include all the determinants of the EBP environment.
https://implementationsciencecomms.biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/s43058-020-00070-0
https://www.wgu.edu/blog/evidence-based-practice-nursing2012.html#openSubscriberModal
https://www.usa.edu/blog/evidence-based-practice/
https://www.nursingce.com/ceu-courses/nursing-evidence-based-practice
In the research and literature review process, the quality of the evidence is examined, as well as the level of evidence. The quality of the evidence is based on how confident a researcher is that the information gained from a study is adequate enough to help formulate a recommendation (WHO, 2013). The level of evidence is based on the type of source, whether it is a study, literature review, clinical practice guideline, or expert panel opinion. There are six levels of evidence, which are outlined below in Table 1. The levels of evidence range from Level I to Level VII, with Level I evidence being the strongest level of evidence.
Infection control. Evidence-based infection-control policies exist in every medical setting and its importance has been continually reiterated during the COVID-19 pandemic. This EBP includes keeping the healthcare environment clean and disinfected, wearing personal protective clothing, using barrier precautions, and practicing correct handwashing.
Oxygen use in COPD patients. Based on well-researched evidence, the correct treatment to help prevent hypoxia (low oxygen in the blood) and organ failure in patients with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) is to administer oxygen.
Treatment for angina. Extensive research has concluded multiple treatment options to effectively manage angina, including nitrates, clot-preventing drugs, beta blockers, statins, and aspirin.
